The Air Force

The Air Force solves tasks in the air over Denmark, in the Commonwealth and in war and conflict zones.

The Royal Danish Air Force

The Air Force is comprised of an Air Staff, three air wings stationed at three air bases, the Air Control Wing with command & control facilities and radars, the Operations Support Wing, and the Joint Movement and Transport Organisation.

Current deployments

The Air Force has operated in the campaigns in Afghanistan, Libya, and Iraq and other locations, and is currently operating in Iraq and Mali in the fight against terrorism.

On a regular basis, the Air Force participates in maintaining sovereignty over the Baltic countries and in protecting Europe's external borders by patrolling the Mediterranean Sea in support of Frontex – the European Border and Coast Guard agency. Currently the Air Force deployes a Challenger aircraft to the Mediterranean Sea in support of Frontex.